Jitter #32

Who I Am

I am white,
black, brown,
yellow, red…

But that’s not who I am.

I am male,
female, man,
woman,
yin, yang…

But that’s not who I am.

I am Christian,
Muslim, Jewish,
Buddhist, Taoist,
Hindu, Wiccan,
atheist, agnostic…

But that’s not who I am.

I am straight, gay,
lesbian, somewhere
along the
continuum…

But that’s not who I am.

I am American,
European, Indian,
Asian, Middle Eastern,
a child of the world…

But that’s not who I am.

I’m a lefty, a righty,
a leftist, a rightist,
liberal, conservative,
centrist,
ambidextrous,
bisexual,
queer…

But that’s not who I am.

When you label me,
you marginalize me.

When you see me only
as part of a group,
you diminish me.

When you assume
I act and think and feel
as others like me,
you delude yourself,
because there are no others
like me.

I am unique,
not a stereotype,
not a clichΓ©,
not something you
can merely dismiss
without thought.

I’m tough.
I’m chaotic.
I’m a challenge.
I’m human…

I belong to groups,
but the groups don’t
define me.

If I tell you my eye color,
can you know what’s in my heart?
If I give you my shoe size,
will you get a glimpse into my soul?

If you want
to know me,
then talk to me,
listen to me.

Hear what I say,
read what I write.

See what I do,
watch how I live.

Learn what I love,
what I hate,
what I desire,
what I fear…

And what I hope for
and what I dream of.

Discover the wonder
that I am,
that you are,
that we all are:

Individual.

Unique.

Complex.

Indefinable.

Only then will you know
who I am.

30 thoughts on “Jitter #32

  1. Anita Lubesh says:

    Reblogged this on As it Comes and commented:
    My beautiful husband wrote these outstanding words.

  2. Bravo.
    I used to dismiss, without thought, those whose politics leaned in a different direction to mine, yet I said I had no prejudices. I was 60 years old before I discovered my mistake, and it was a blogger who put me right.
    May I reblog your post, please? I never reblog without asking first.

  3. The Poetry Channel says:

    Well said, Anita’s husband. ☺

  4. Reblogged this on Making it write and commented:
    Here’s a poem which deserves to be reblogged all over WP…

  5. Michael33 says:

    I am reading…
    I am listening…
    I am wandering in the wonder of us all…

    You stated it most perfectly and beautifully…
    Thank you for sharing it with the world…

    Michael

  6. Olga says:

    You said it all perfectly. Wonderful poetic words to enlighten humanity. ❀

  7. rixlibris says:

    Love it. Your words triggered this thought: If you identify me by my past you miss the entire point of growth; I don’t live there anymore.

    • jaynabonne says:

      I can identify with that. I’m not the same person I was, say,10 years ago (and perhaps even yesterday, to some extent πŸ™‚ ). I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  8. Paul Rincon says:

    Thanks for creating this. I do need friendly reminders once in a while that people from all the various ideologies and cultures do this, label people as “us” and “them,” and then just box everyone in. As a liberal, I’d like to think that I’m above doing this; but when I take a closer look (itself something that we liberals like to believe helps define us as such), clearly I am not. I need to get better at recognizing that other points of view do have some validity and come from somewhere worth at least recognizing. Keep up the good work.

  9. calensariel says:

    Absolutely spot on!

  10. Beautiful, I love this and would like to reblog and share on FB if thats ok.

  11. Curlabyebye says:

    This is so breathtaking in its truth!!

  12. Curlabyebye says:

    Reblogged this on The 365 Days Without Facebook Challenge and commented:
    This poem took my breath away! It’s not only a stunner of a poem, is heart-stoppingly beautiful in its truth.

  13. samba2017 says:

    This is a brave, powerful and liberating poem. I really enjoyed reading it. Thanks – it has a big impact! I have just started a poetry blog here on WordPress in case you have time to have a look? Sam πŸ™‚

  14. Pinkspen says:

    Powerfully truthful!!!! A sad reality! Thanks for sharing your voice! I would love it if you checked out my site ladyhoodjourney.com and my post http://ladyhoodjourney.com/2017/04/11/the-land-of-the-captivethe-home-of-the-afraid/
    I would love your feedback!

  15. jyotijangra says:

    ‘I belong to groups,
    but the groups don’t
    define me.’
    The high point!

Leave a Reply

